About our Musicians

The musicians of the NSS are among the finest in the Washington, D.C. and Baltimore area. Many are also members of some of the premiere orchestras in the area, as well as being active chamber musicians and teachers.


Violin I

Jie Hyue Kim - concertmaster
Susan Benac
Sonia Garcia-Lee
Vanessa Solis
Ariadna Buonviri
Lara Buchko

Violin II

Eli Thomas - acting principal
Anthony Shields
Fiona Studebaker
David Shavin
Nancy Shavin
Eleonel Molina


Cameron Raecke - principal
Matthew Gattuso - assistant principal
Erik Whitesides
Brandon Lewis


Andrew Nixon - principal
Katherine Colburn - assistant principal
Daniel Daughtry-Weiss
Alyssa Moquin


Barbara Fitzgerald - principal
Gwendolyn Hellmann


Abigail Palmer


The National String Symphonia is grateful for support from:

Maryland State Arts Council Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County Frederick Arts Council
Eternal Vines